Back to top

SFS Annual Meeting

Poster Details

<< Back to Posters

RESPONSE OF MACROINVERTEBRATE COMMUNITY STRUCTURE TO RESTORATION EFFORTS ON MACOCHEE CREEK, OHIO, USA

The Mad River represents one of the few cold water habitats present in the state of Ohio. One of the Mad River’s primary tributaries, Macochee Creek, was channelized in the 1800’s for agricultural purposes, but a small section (0.8 km) underwent an extensive restoration during 2007 to restore sinuosity and improve riparian and in-stream habitat. The purpose of this study was to assess the macroinvertebrate community ten years after restoration. In the fall of 2017, nine sites were selected: three upstream of the restoration, three downstream of the restoration and three sites within the restored stream reach. At each site, selected environmental parameters were surveyed and macroinvertebrates were collected from riffle habitats using a Surber sampler. Preliminary results from a subset of macroinvertebrate samples indicate that the restored section had higher Shannon diversity, higher % EPT and higher family richness at the restored sites when compared to the unrestored sites.

Nao Hariguchi (Primary Presenter/Author), Ohio Northern University, n-hariguchi@onu.edu;


Alexander Wood (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, a-wood.2@onu.edue;


Evan Corteville (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, e-corteville@onu.edu;


Austin Morehouse (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, a-morehouse@onu.edu;


Ken Oswald (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, Department of Biological & Allied Health Sciences, k-oswald@onu.edu;


Robert Verb (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, r-verb@onu.edu;


Leslie Riley (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, l-riley.1@onu.edu;