Poster Details

<< Back to Posters

GREAT LAKES COASTAL WETLAND MONITORING PROGRAM: NOVEL RESOURCES FOR SCIENTISTS, AGENCIES, AND THE PUBLIC

Coastal wetlands are simultaneously among the most threatened and ecologically important habitats of the Laurentian Great Lakes. In 2010, the USEPA, via the Great Lakes Restoration Initiative, funded the Great Lakes Coastal Wetland Monitoring Program (CWMP) for an initial 5-year period. In 2016, the program was renewed through 2020 to better inform future wetland protection and restoration efforts. To date, over 1000 Great Lakes wetlands have been sampled for water quality, vegetation, invertebrates, fish, amphibians, and birds using standardized protocols. Additional wetlands designated for protection or restoration are also being sampled to evaluate the effectiveness of those efforts. The extensive data gathered by this monitoring program has allowed the condition of Great Lakes coastal wetlands to be evaluated using various metrics and IBIs based on a range of biota. As an example, the CWMP has already contributed to invasive species databases designed for early detection and distributional assessment. To ensure resources and data from this program are available to any interested party, a web-based wetland map exploration tool and data portal has been erected on the CWMP webpage ( http://www.greatlakeswetlands.org).

Gary Lamberti (Primary Presenter/Author), University of Notre Dame, glambert@nd.edu;


Michael Brueseke ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Department of Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame, mbruesek@nd.edu;


Whitney Conard ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Department of Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame, wconard@nd.edu;


Katherine O'Reilly ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Department of Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame, koreill2@nd.edu;


Valerie Brady ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Natural Resources Research Institute, University Minnesota Duluth, vbrady@d.umn.edu;


Jan Ciborowski ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Department of Biological Sciences, University of Windsor, cibor@uwindsor.ca;


Matthew Cooper ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Burke Center for Freshwater Innovation, Northland College, mcooper@northland.edu;


Nicholas Danz ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Department of Natural Sciences, University of Wisconsin Superior, ndanz@uwsuper.edu;


Joseph Gathman ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Biology Department, University of Wisconsin River Falls, joseph.gathman@uwrf.edu;


Greg Grabas ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, greg.grabas@ec.gc.ca;


Robert Howe ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Department of Natural and Applied Sciences, University of Wisconsin Green Bay, hower@uwgb.edu;


Lucinda Johnson ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Natural Resources Research Institute, University of Minnesota Duluth, ljohnson@d.umn.edu;


Ashley Moerke ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Aquatic Research Laboratory, Lake Superior State University, amoerke@lssu.edu;


Gerald Niemi ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Natural Resources Research Institute, University Minnesota Duluth, gniemi@d.umn.edu;


Kevin O'Donnell ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Great Lakes National Program Office, odonnell.thomas@epa.gov;


Todd Redder ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Limnotech, tredder@limno.com;


Carl Ruetz ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Annis Water Resources Institute, Grand Valley State University, carl.ruetz@gvsu.edu;


Douglas Tozer ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Bird Studies Canada, dtozer@bsc-eoc.org;


Donald Uzarski ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Institute for Great Lakes Research, Central Michigan University, uzars1dg@cmich.edu;


Douglas Wilcox ( Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Department of Environmental Science and Biology, The College at Brockport, dwilcox@brockport.edu;