Back to top

SFS Annual Meeting

Poster Details

<< Back to Posters

INFLUENCE OF STREAM CHANNELIZATION AND RESTORED SINUOSITY ON COLD WATER LOTIC FISH ASSEMBLAGES.

Cold water habitats are rare in the state of Ohio, but important, because they contain unique fish communities. Macochee Creek (Mad River Watershed, Ohio), was channelized in the 1800’s for agricultural purposes, but a small section (0.8 km) underwent an extensive restoration during 2007 to restore sinuosity and improve riparian and in-stream habitat. The objective of this investigation was to examine the patterns of fish assemblage within and outside of this restored stream segment. In the fall of 2017, 3 sites were selected: one upstream of the restoration, one downstream of the restoration and one site within the restored stream reach. Electrofishing surveys revealed the most abundant species to be Semotilus atromaculatus (creek chub), Lethenteron appendix (American brook lamprey), and Catostomus commersonii (white suckers). Initial results for fishes indicate that the downstream segment had higher Shannon diversity and species richness when compared to the restored and upstream segment.

Alexander Wood (Primary Presenter/Author), Ohio Northern University, a-wood.2@onu.edue;


Nao Hariguchi (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, n-hariguchi@onu.edu;


Evan Corteville (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, e-corteville@onu.edu;


Austin Morehouse (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, a-morehouse@onu.edu;


Ken Oswald (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, Department of Biological & Allied Health Sciences, k-oswald@onu.edu;


Robert Verb (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, r-verb@onu.edu;


Leslie Riley (Co-Presenter/Co-Author), Ohio Northern University, l-riley.1@onu.edu;